TOTM – Organic Sanitary Products Review

I was recently on the hunt for some more environmentally and better for my body sanitary products. I came across Time of the Month and after reaching out to them were kind enough to send me out some samples to try. I’ve used my normal brand for the last 3 years and before that used the same tampon brand pretty much since I started my period at 15.

Firstly I am a sanitary towel girl all the way, I used to use tampons but after the whole ovarian cyst, Endometriosis saga I just did not feel comfortable using them anymore. It’s just a personal preference and they don’t cause me any issues.

I received a pack of super sanitary towels and a pack of liners from TOTM Time of the Month. What first struck me was the packaging is beautiful! I absolutely love bright colours and loved how they explained the benefits on the back plus they also work with the Endometriosis UK charity which is a well worth cause to support. I also really loved how the packaging is cardboard, a big plus for the environment over the plastic ones used for most brands. Time of the month (TOTM) provide organic tampons, sanitary towels, liners, menstrual cups and accessories plus they do a subscription service so you just sign up and whatever you need arrives every month. Something I will likely be taking up to avoid any last minute dashes to the shop (I swear I have had my period for 15 years but I am still unprepared on many occasions).

totm-blog-3

I tried out the liners in the days leading up to my period and they were comfortable, easy to use and really discreet. I actually started my period whilst wearing one and stupidly was out of the house without a towel, luckily the liner tied me over until I got home which wasn’t for another 2 hours and I was still safe and secure with no ruined underwear.

The sanitary towels came packaged in the same way the big brands do with a thin plastic coating so you can dispose of the old one discreetly. They also had wings and secured really easily to my underwear making me feel confident it wasn’t going anywhere (trust me it’s happened). I used the super sanitary towels throughout my period and have absolutely no complaints. They worked perfectly as they should and I didn’t feel like I was wearing anything. They are nice and thin so not visible even when wearing leggings or skinny jeans and really comfortable. I am super fussy with products like this as some do cause me irritation, I think because my period is heavy and I have to change my towels often it just makes everything a bit agitated down there. The Time of the Month ones didn’t give me any irritation though and the fact that they were organic made me feel like I was treating that area better than I usually do.

TOTM-BLOG-2

I am definitely a convert and will not be going back to my usual brand. They are a bit more expensive than what I usually spend but it is a worthwhile investment to me. I think it’s so important to reduce unnecessary chemicals from your life especially for products that are so close to your intimate area.

TOTM-BLOG-4

These were gifted to me after a sample was requested and all views are my own.

Check out the TOTM range on their website here. 

Product information from the TOTM website.

Pads:

  • Organic cotton absorbent core and cover (0% plastic against skin)
  • Secure biodegradable backing with non-toxic adhesive
  • No fragrance, deodorants, wood pulp or chlorine bleach
  • Hypoallergenic to prevent irritation

Packaging:

  • Pads wrapped individually in biodegradable and compostable biofilm
  • Packed in a cardboard box
  • Mailing bag made with plant-based ingredients (carbon positive and fully recyclable)

Thanks for reading!

A x

One thought on “TOTM – Organic Sanitary Products Review

  1. The Fibro Femme says:

    Awesome post! It’s nice to get information about products like this before purchasing because as you said they can be a little more expensive!

    Like

Leave a comment